Getting ready to ask for help testing PyDebug

So what kind of help do I need?

One of my priorities now is to get started on internationalization.  I just today generated the PyDebug.pot file in the PyDebug.activity/po folder, which will permit the menus to be translated.

When I look at the Deployment data it seems clear that my first priority should be to get a spanish help section going. The help system of PyDebug has a place holder “Spanish” root page (in english), and I have verified that when the language is changed via the control panel of the XO, the place holder Spanish page is displayed.  I have found Spanish versions of some of the packages that are included in the English version of help but I need to download them and put them in place.

On the whole, the Help component of PyDebug seems incomplete, and of low quality. I guess my hope is that some volunteers will appear who are willing to improve and expand the Help section in directions that make sense.  I heard of a group of college students in Manila who were starting on an Activity development project.  They might be willing to take on the “first users” role.

In the longer term, my vision is that I need to write my program so that localized HTML help can be downloaded as a language pack, and become available automatically in PyDebug.

I need to get first impressions from people who program and from those who want to learn to program.

About George Hunt

Retired electrical engineer and programmer, enthusiastic about OLPC as a vehicle for gathering together volunteerism, mine and so many others', for helping education in developing countries.
This entry was posted in Plans and Dreams. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

